Ohio Renaissance Fair 2012

In 2007 I started going to the Kentucky Highland Renaissance Fair in Eminence, KY.  It was as much because I was curious as to have something to take my mind off my pending divorce.  It was one of the best decisions I have made in the last 10 years.  Through that fair I have met some wonderful, salt of the earth people.  I bought the season pass on a whim and it was the best $60 of the summer.  When the season ended, I was a little afraid of the time between the end of that fair and the beginning of the next season in 2008.

Enter James and Missy and Randy and Retha and the Ohio Renaissance Fair.

Through James and Missy I was introduced to Randy and Retha, who worked the Ohio fair.  I was invited to stay with them at their house and was there for the whole season.  I have been there ever since, staying with Randy and Retha every weekend but a few where they were out of town.  This year is no different.  I love getting with them, drinking some wine and beer, talking the year, changes in life and WoW.  I also consider them my family.  They are great people and I owe them a lot.  They are part of the group who helped me get through my worst and best year.

The main difference is at Legacy Forge, where I work with a great group of people who all consider each other family.  Paul, Doug, Adam, Justin, KB and now Teague (Tigglet, for short).  What is different is Tom, who I work with in KY at Legacy Forge, has taken his first season off in nearly 20 years.  He was the one who was responsible for me working at the Forge in the first place, and someone who I really do consider family.  Hell, we have even been accused of being brothers at KY.  Since starting at the Forge in Ohio in 2009, this is the first time Tom isn’t there and it does feel different.  Not any better or worse, just different.

This past weekend was Labor Day weekend, which meant it was a 3-day fair weekend.  Those are rough.  12 to 14 hours a day on your feet, it was hot and humid and rainy.  But we laughed the entire way through, and it felt as if we just picked up where we left off the last weekend of 2011.  One other major change this year is I am actually getting paid cash, rather than steel, this season.  Just haven’t seen anything yet (YET) that has caught my eye.  The previous seasons at Ohio I have worked off pieces, and it has been great.  I have gotten some great weapons (daggers, swords and even a war hammer.)

Renaissance fair is a lifestyle, even for us weekenders.  It is a change of pace from the normal 8-5 week.  For those who have not experienced it, you should.  Take a weekend and immerse yourself in a different world.

Leave a Reply

