Just Added Surveillance

Yep, just added a surveillance camera to the house.  No, it isn’t a high-tech night vision with 4 channels, but it does watch the high-traffic area of my house.  I added a Logitech HD Pro Webcam C920 to my Mac Mini that is in my living room.  It watches the kitchen area, where the door to the garage is located.  Why?  Why not.  Just wanted to see who would be coming by, and to see if I could get something like that together pretty quick.  It uses a piece of software on the Mac called iCamSource to run the server part.  Quick setup, easy configuration, and it even watches specific zones for motion and will take snapshots while motion is detected.  It has an iOS client, iCam, that will send notifications and you can view the camera live on an iPhone, iPad or iPod Touch.  So far, very cool, and so far, it looks like I don’t have a whole lot going on at home when I am not there.  I did see the cleaning lady come through this morning, so I know the motion detection works.  I may even add another Wifi camera if I can find one for less than $100.

Leave a Reply

