Weather Info

And before you ask, this is not going to be a bitch post complaining about how cold and snowy it has been.  Personally, I love snow, always have.

I installed a neat little bit of hardware in my house that monitors various aspects of the weather.  Both inside my house and outside.  Very cool.  It has a nice web interface to bring up what the station is gathering, and includes charts/graphs as well.  It also has smartphone apps that show  the same information.  All this is great.  The units work as expected and is my go-to weather app on my phone now.  It is called NetAtmo and can be ordered from their website.  Installation was quick and easy, even mounting the outdoor unit was cake.  The outdoor unit is completely wireless, and runs on batteries.  So far, after being on the house for 9 months, I am still showing 95% battery.  Very acceptable.  The indoor unit is plugged into the wall and sitting on the counter in my house.  It connects to the internet wirelessly and is completely stand-alone.  Please click more to see how I am now contributing to Louisville’s weather watching.

Now, at work, I use a website called Weather Underground to watch the weather and view maps.  It is great, and allows users to set up their own weather stations to their site to help with getting more localized weather.  There are thousands of official weather stations and thousands of user maintained weather stations.  I added my NetAtmo to the site, however it requires a 3rd party to get it to update automatically.  My weather station on Weather Underground can be accessed from this link: KKYLOUIS68

Now, there are a few things that have to be in place in order to share out the data and allow remote connections to the NetAtmo.

  1. NetAtmo API account. Start with their Developer Website to to get the Client ID and Client Secret.
  2. Set up an account on MeteoWare Plus.  This will connect to your NetAtmo using the Client ID and Client Secret and update the Weather Underground site.
  3. Set up an account on Weather Underground.  Then, you can follow their instructions at their Personal Weather Station site.

The MeteoWare site will update your PWS account every 20 minutes.  And it works well.  Now, the only thing I wish I could add to is the Wind information, however the NetAtmo does not have a wind sensor.  Also, as a side note, I received a subscription to the full version of the Weather Underground site, which includes no ads, for free last year.  It is a huge upgrade to the free account.  The subscription only costs $10, but I can send a link that should get a free year for someone.  First come, first served.

3 thoughts on “Weather Info

  1. Pingback: More House Stuff | Extra Thoughts

Leave a Reply

