New Small Kitchen Appliance – Rice Cooker

I decided to branch out and try to eat more at home.  I need fire and forget stuff cause I just don’t have much patience for cooking elaborate meals.  I have a crock pot and use it a bit, but still, I find myself having to plan out meals and such in advanced and to go the store too often.  So I decided, since I have quite a bit of rice around the house and never can quite cook it right in a pot, to get a rice cooker.

I looked around online for what was most recommended.  The biggest problem is most people said “just cook it on the stove” and I just didn’t want to.  I finally ended up purchasing a Zojirushi IH Micom Rice Cooker & Warmer, 3 cups.  That was more than enough for me.  Last night I gave it a try.  I used a cup of jasmine white rice and 1.25 cups water and a little salt.  I was keeping it simple to try the first time.  I hit the cook button after setting the rice type (white) and in about 45 minutes, I have rice that was damn near perfect.  I am going to start trying to add some different flavorings and using stock in place of the water and do up some real fried rice, now that I have the cooking part down.  And cleanup is a snap – rinse the inner bowl out and wipe down with a towel.

Leave a Reply

