Change in Lifestyle

I am feeling a change in my current lifestyle coming up.  While it will start this year, I don’t know when it will fully take over.  I think this happens to all of us, even if we do not recognize what is happening when it does occur.  As I look back on my own life, I can see some major points where my lifestyle changed.  Often for the better, even if veiled in unfortunate circumstances.

I am not going all the way back, this is not a biography, just an observation.  From 2001 until 2007, I was in a serious relationship and marriage.  For a while it was good, and we meshed well together.  It was a lifestyle change from being a mid-20s single guy to instant family, as she had a daughter already.  It was good, we had fun, did all the things young families did and enjoyed it.  I liked the lifestyle, and it fit.  For a while.

In early 2007, we split and had little to no contact.  Any contact was via or with lawyers.  It was a rough time.  I needed something else to do besides sit in my house and feel sorry for myself.  I changed jobs at this point as well.  In the summer, I started going to my first renaissance fair.  I got a season pass and went ever single weekend.  It was fun and I met a whole new circle of friends, many of which I call family now.  They got me through a rough patch when I needed the help the most.  I started to do more activities and trips to other fairs and was soon not only working for one fair, but working for a vendor at another as well.  This went on for eight years.  This past fall, at one of the fairs that is a little over 2.5 hours away, I started getting run down during the weekend, making the drive home and the next couple days after, painful.  After the fair was over, I spent a lot of time thinking and trying to decide if I should keep working that one, since it is so far and I have no time off for a full 9 weeks.  Also, it left me no time to do anything else.

I finally, and painfully, came to a decision to not work that fair anymore.  I would go visit, but I could no longer put that much time into it.  I am still going to be doing the closer fair in the summer, as it is just less than 30 minutes away from my house.  Instead of going to be on a Sunday night at 2 or 3 in the morning to get up at 6, I would be going to bed at a normal time.  So, I have a lot of time back to do something else during the year that would not be back-breaking work.  It was fun, but it was tough.

On December 31, 2014 I purchased a brand new 2014 Honda NC700X DCT motorcycle.  I have been wanting a motorcycle for a long time.  Every spring I would surf the websites and look at all the machines with envy.  This year, I pulled the trigger.  I have no house payment, no car payment, and everything was in order.  So now I have this new machine.  Everything about it represents a freedom of movement I have not felt in a very long time.  I no longer feel caged up.  This is going to be a whole new lifestyle for me.  Weekend and day trips whenever the weather is good.  Week long trips to see parts of the country I have never seen.  An easy commute into and out of work, so I may go to some of the neat events downtown and on the waterfront.  Get together with other riders and take trips or just sit and talk.  Above all, just get out of the house.

I have had the bike for just short of a month now, and have only put just short of 600 miles on her.  That will change quickly.  I have been reading “road reports” and watching documentaries on trips people are doing, both around the world, and around the state/country.  I want to experience the same thing, and I will experience the same thing.  I bought an adventuring bike and am gearing it up to carry the required items for a week trip.  I can’t take much longer than that off at any given time, but I will make trips this year.

This year is only the beginning.  It will be an expensive year as I get all the required gear for myself and the bike to make these trips.  I started a blog dedicated to my experiences and trips on the bike.  You can read it here: The Adventures of the RavenI also have a YouTube channel as well for showing off some of the rides.  Catch it here: My YouTube Channel

That does not mean this blog will cease to be.  I still have many other hobbies, activites and thoughts I need to throw down in 1’s and 0’s.  Take care, and find your lifestyle change!  Take charge!

Leave a Reply

