St. Patrick’s Day

Finally.  The weather is breaking into early spring.  50s and 60s the next two weeks are looking great.  Sure, there are a couple days where the temps will be dropping into the 30s, but at least it is above freezing.  The big deal is for St. Patrick’s Day, and the annual outing to the Irish Rover at noon on the 17th.  It is tradition, for a lot of people, to take the day or at least 1/2 day off work and go to the Irish Rover when it opens to score a table.  They open around 10 AM and close well after 11 PM.  I have been going since 1997, and have missed only a single year.  This year, I will be riding into work and out of work on that day.  I will be heading to the Rover at my normal time, and will be meeting up with friends I only ever see one day a year!  It is funny how that works.

Before then, however, I have a 3-day weekend ahead of me with a trip down to the cabin.  Can’t wait.  Needing the time away from town and with friends and alcohol and a good pipe.  Been looking forward to it for a long time now, as we missed the fall trip and the winter trip was postponed due to weather.  Long time coming.  I was hoping to ride down, however I don’t have the luggage for the bike yet, and it looks like all day tomorrow it will be raining.  I am not up for a 1 hour trip in the pouring rain, we will save that for a time when there is no choice.  Still, it will be a great weekend.

Also around the corner is my first motocamping (motorcycle camping) event down near Cave City at the end of March.  It will be with a group of Adventure Riders from the region.  Looks like a dozen bikes and riders are going to be attending.  It should be a great time.  I am hoping to have my luggage before then, but if not, I will figure out how to get everything tied off and working for camping.

Yep, short update of a what’s going on, and sharing some excitement of some upcoming events.

Leave a Reply

