KYHRF Season 10 Comes to a Close

10 years ago I found myself going to some fair with a couple friends of mine and my then wife and stepdaughter.  It was out in the middle of nowhere in a muddy field.  I had no idea what we were in for, I had never heard of a renaissance festival before.  So we are walking down the “main street” and there were vendors selling stuff on both sides, people dressed up in weird costumes and even guys swallowing swords and hanging things from their bodies.  Also, in a large back field, there was jousting and even a birds of prey show.  In the center was a tent where you could get some fish and chips and a beer.  All I remember really from the day was this street performer who was trying a trick on my buddy (a jeweler) and attempting to take his watch off with as much stealth as he could.  He was immediately busted, we had a laugh and went around for a couple hours and then left.

That was in 2006.  Between June of 2006 and June of 2007, stuff happened and I found myself single again and needing something to do, so I purchased a season ticket for the weird fair and headed out.  Since then, I have missed maybe 2 days at the fair.  I have been a patron, helper of the fair and now a vendor for Legacy Forge (since 2010.)  I have met friends who we can go for nearly a year without seeing each other, but we pick right back up where we left off.

This year was a year of breaking records.  Especially for the fair.  I believe nearly every weekend topped the same weekend last year, and overall attendance was the best ever!  Even with as wet as it was, people came out in droves.  The street cast was having a blast and could be seen and heard from everywhere in the fair.  The huge pub building was always buzzing with people and song, and the adult pub in the back for those over 21 was always full.  It really felt, when I did get out for a bit, like a full grown fair, and that is awesome, especially to all the nay-sayers who were making bets we would not last 5 years, let alone 10!

So, until next we meet, I bid you all a fond farewell, and may the roads rise ever to meet your feet.

Leave a Reply

