First New Laptop Since 2011

As there have been issues running my existing laptop (MacBook Pro 17″ 2011) with overheating and random turnoffs, I have opted to go ahead and get a new PC.  I spent $3600 on the MBP when I bought it, and it has lasted longer than any other PC I have ever owned.  So I cannot fault the computer or build quality.  It did everything I asked of it, for a long time.  5 years is a long time for any computer, much less a laptop.  It is time to upgrade, however.

alienwareThis time around, I widened my sights to include high-end Windows machines as well as MacBook Pro’s.  One thing that has always bothered me about the MBP is they stopped making the 17″ model.  The screen real estate on a 17″ laptop is just too nice to ignore.  I looked at the offerings from Apple in the MBP, and when compared to some of the other high-end Windows machines, they have been found lacking.  The video card in the MBP is pretty far behind the Windows machine offerings.  I looked at quite a few, and it got a bit confusing, but I ended up getting an Alienware 17″ laptop, and the thing is a behemoth.  Below are the stats.

Alienware 17″ R3 Laptop Computer

  • 17.3 inch 4K UHD (3840 x 2160) IGZO IPS Anti-Glare 400-nits Display
  • NVIDIA(R) GeForce(R) GTX 980M with 8GB GDDR5
  • Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6820HK (Quad-Core, 8MB Cache, Dynamically Overclocked up to 4.1GHz)
  • 32GB Dual Channel DDR4 2133Mhz (16GBx2)
  • 256GB PCIe SSD (Boot) + 1TB 7200RPM SATA 6Gb/s (Storage)
  • Intel 8260 2×2 802.11ac 2.4/5GHz + Bluetooth4.1
  • Windows 10 Pro (64bit) English

It should arrive today or tomorrow, which is none to soon.  My old friend, the MBP, wont last staying on much more than an hour at a time.  Will I repair it?  I dont know.  It will depend on what ends up being wrong.  However, as I have already purchased a new PC, which I am expecting to last at least the same time frame, I dont want to spend much money on the 5 year old computer.

I have always wanted an Alienware PC, for well over a decade.  I could never really justify it.  After spending so much on the MBP, it was easier to justify, considering it is $1000 less for more machine.  Just wish I could have gotten the engraved plate they used to offer, so long ago.

One thought on “First New Laptop Since 2011

  1. My very first computer – IBM (with dual floppy drives!) and a Toshiba printer (tractor feed!) cost $24,000. Can you imagine! That was in 1984 – years ahead of the curve.

    Like

Leave a Reply

